Skip links and keyboard navigation

Human Research Ethics Committee

Metro South Health operates a Human Research Ethics Committee (HREC) which provides ethical and scientific review/clearance of research projects.


The Metro South Health HREC considers both the ethical and scientific validity of proposed research within Metro South Health. Under the National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) coordinated National Mutual Acceptance, the Metro South Health HREC can also review for research projects conducted in Queensland, New South Wales, Victoria, Western Australia, Australian Capital Territory and South Australia.

The Metro South Health HREC aims to:

  • protect the mental and physical welfare, rights, dignity and safety of research participants
  • facilitate and promote high calibre ethical research through efficient and effective review processes
  • ensure that all clinical and ethical research is conducted responsibly.

The Metro South Health HREC is certified by the NHMRC (registration number EC00167).

It is constituted and functions in accordance with the NHMRC National Statement of Ethical Conduct in Human Research (2007, Updated 2018) ('National Statement'). Please see the Ethical and Scientific Review of Human Research Procedure and Metro South Health HREC Terms of Reference.

Metro South Health has adopted the streamlined ethical clearance process for multi-centre research that helps to reduce unnecessary duplication of review of research.

Meeting dates

The Metro South Health HREC meets at 5.00 pm, once a month on the first Tuesday of the month (unless otherwise indicated). Researchers must submit all required forms and documents by 12.00 noon on a closing date listed in the HREC application closing and meeting dates for 2020 (PDF, 62.03 KB).


As per section 5.1.30 of the NHMRC National Statement, the membership of the Metro South Health HREC includes:

  • a chairperson, with suitable experience, whose other responsibilities will not impair the HREC's capacity to carry out its obligations under the National Statement
  • at least two lay people, one man and one woman, who have no affiliation with the institution and do not currently engage in medical, scientific, legal or academic work
  • at least one person with knowledge of, and current experience in, the professional care, counselling or treatment of people; for example, a nurse or allied health professional
  • at least one person who performs a pastoral care role in a community, for example, an Aboriginal elder, a minister of religion
  • at least one lawyer, where possible one who is not engaged to advise the institution
  • at least two people with current research experience that is relevant to research proposals to be considered at the meetings they attend - these two members may be selected, according to need, from an established pool of inducted members with relevant expertise.

Our Metro South Health HREC members include:

Associate Professor Scott Campbell

Chairperson — Scott Campbell is a Senior Staff Specialist and Deputy Director in the Department of Nephrology, Princess Alexandra Hospital. He graduated in Medicine from the University of Queensland in 1986 with the University Medal. He completed his Specialist training in 1993 and has PhD in Transplantation Immunology. His primary clinical and research interest is in the area of Renal Transplantation. Other professional activities include: Metro South HREC, Member, January 2009 – current; Metro South HREC, Deputy Chair, June 2010 – current; National Renal Transplant Advisory Committee, Member, July 1999 – current; National Renal Transplant Advisory Committee, Chair, 2004 – 2013; Transplantation Society of Australia and New Zealand, Honorary Treasurer and Councillor, 2009 – 2013.

Dr Mary Boyde

Deputy Chairperson (Low Risk) —Mary Boyde, RN, BN, MN, MEd, PhD, MANC, works as a Nurse Researcher in Cardiology and Nurse Educator for the Nursing Practice Development Unit, Princess Alexandra Hospital. Mary’s experience in cardiovascular nursing and education has led to an interest in patient education. Mary’s PhD research focused on developing effective patient education strategies for people with chronic heart failure. As a Nurse Educator Mary contributes to the professional development of nursing staff within the areas of cardiology and patient education. Mary's research continues to focus on investigating and developing effective patient education strategies.

Category B

  • Ms Beverley Kurkowski
  • Ms Jaye Buswell
  • Dr Trevor Jordan
  • Ms Judith Wardell
  • Mr David Milne

Category C

  • Dr Jennifer Jones
  • Ms Nicolla Lewin
  • Ms Lisette Brock
  • Mr Kelly Perkins
  • Mr Andrew Wheaton
  • Ms Megan McKerrow
  • Ms Melissa Arneil
  • Ms Vera Meeusen

Category D

  • Mr Bruce Monley
  • Associate Professor David McEwan
  • Ms Cindy Sinclair

Category E

  • Mr John Bennett
  • Ms Susan Gardiner

Category F

  • Dr Adam La Caze
  • Dr Marianne Wyder
  • Dr Bena Brown
  • Dr Aideen McInerney-Leo
  • Dr Ayesha Shah
  • Dr Nicole Warrington
  • Dr Rahul Ladwa
  • Dr Victoria Atkinson
  • Dr Dariusz Korczyk
  • Dr Theo Theodoros
  • Dr Shivanand Hebbandi
  • Ms Tatiane Yanes


Last updated 19 August 2020
Last reviewed 17 May 2018